Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans

A Home for Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels, Movies & Games
 
HomePortalGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 JK Rowling Voted International IPEX 2010 "Champion In Print"

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vik
Druid


Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

PostSubject: JK Rowling Voted International IPEX 2010 "Champion In Print"   Tue 03 Feb 2009, 8:39 pm

Harry Potter author JK Rowling has been named the second International Ipex 2010 'Champion in Print' by the global graphic arts industry event Ipex for her outstanding contribution to book printing. This prestigious honour acknowledges the enormous positive influence that Ms Rowling has had on the printing industry, through the phenomenal increase in the production of the printed book, as a result of her hugely successful Harry Potter series.
The first of Ms Rowling's Harry Potter books was published in 1997. Since then, Harry Potter has taken the world by storm with the books now having sold over 400 million copies worldwide and translated into over 68 languages. Published in 2007, the seventh and final book in the series, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, was the fastest selling book ever in many countries.

A spokeswoman for Ms Rowling said she was "flattered to be nominated for the Ipex 2010 'Champions in Print' Award".

Ipex 2010 Event Director, Trevor Crawford comments: "Harry Potter has become a household name worldwide so we are extremely pleased that Ms Rowling has been awarded our prestigious 'Champions in Print Award' by the graphic arts world."

The Ipex 2010 'Champions in Print Awards' have been launched to honour individuals who have influenced and shaped the printing industry across the world. The Ipex Advisory Committee (IAC), which represents a broad range of major exhibitors, visitor groups and trade associations, .debates the nominations that have been received via the special voting section on Ipex's website, http://www.ipex.org , and selects 10 'Champions in Print' in the run up to Ipex 2010, which will take place from 18th - 25th May at the NEC, Birmingham, UK.

Indigo founder and industry pioneer Benny Landa was recently named as the first winner of the international Ipex 2010 'Champions in Print Awards'. Voting polls are now open for nominating the third 'Champion in Print' which will be announced in March. If a nominee hasn't been selected first time, he or she can be entered again. Participants can complete a nomination form, available in multiple languages, on-line on http://www.ipex.org/cip
via the special 'Champions in Print' section. Entries must be supported by a brief summary of the nominee's achievements.


About IPEX 2010

Ipex is the largest English-speaking global technology event for print, publishing and media.Acquired by IIR Exhibitions in 2006 from its previous owner, industry association Picon, IIR Exhibitions also owns Total Print! Expo incorporating Digital Print World, Northprint and Ipex South Asia.

Ipex 2010 will take place from Tuesday 18th May to Tuesday 25th May 2010 at The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, England. The new footprint for the show provides a logical layout for visitors by mirroring the whole print production workflow.

The new Ipex 2010 website http://www.ipex.org includes sales brochures, the exhibition layout, an exhibitor list as well as marketing and logistical information. It also has information and voting forms for the international Ipex 2010 'Champions Print' Awards which were launched to acknowledge the huge contributions of those who have influenced and shaped the development of the printing industry.

In 2006, Ipex attracted over 100,000 visitors, 40% of which came from overseas covering over 159 countries - more than any other Graphic Arts exhibition before.

SOURCE: IIR Exhibitions, 2009-Jan-28

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
 
JK Rowling Voted International IPEX 2010 "Champion In Print"
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Hobbico's "Cox Super Fuel"
» Doomwatch 2010 : Story 1 : "Price Worth Paying"
» Pinus mugo - 2010 yamadori " Two root balls"
» Challenge 2: "Shagadelic 70's!"
» "Growing In Kindness" is now available

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans :: WELCOME TO SCI-FI-FANTASY FAN ::   :: News and Events-
Jump to: