Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans

A Home for Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels, Movies & Games
 
HomePortalGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vik
Druid


Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

PostSubject: Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation   Sat 04 Jul 2009, 11:23 pm

Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation

Bloomsbury Publishing on Monday denied allegations that author J.K. Rowling copied "substantial parts" of a book by another children's author when she wrote Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, the Reuters news service reported.

The book, published in 2000, was the fourth installment of the hugely successful boy-wizard Harry Potter series that has sold more than 400 million copies worldwide and been turned into a multibillion-dollar film franchise.
"The allegations of plagiarism made today, Monday 15 June 2009, by the Estate of Adrian Jacobs are unfounded, unsubstantiated and untrue," said a statement from Bloomsbury, which publishes Harry Potter in Britain. "This claim is without merit and will be defended vigorously."

In an earlier statement, Jacobs' estate said that it had issued proceedings at London's High Court against Bloomsbury Publishing for copyright infringement, claiming that Rowling had copied "substantial parts" of The Adventures of Willy the Wizard—No 1 Livid Land, written by Jacobs in 1987.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
 
Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Harry Potter deck
» Harry Potter Paper Piecing
» Harry Potter to play Allen Ginsberg in new biopic
» One Last Cold Kiss (A Harry Potter Fanfic)
» Harry Potter vs Narutoverse: Naruhina/Debunking NS arguments

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans :: WELCOME TO SCI-FI-FANTASY FAN ::   :: News and Events-
Jump to: