Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans

A Home for Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels, Movies & Games
 
HomePortalGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Brandon Sanderson hits #21 on Best Seller List

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vik
Druid


Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

PostSubject: Brandon Sanderson hits #21 on Best Seller List   Fri 24 Oct 2008, 10:46 pm

Well known Author of Hero of Ages, Mistborn, and Warbreaker has hit #21 on the New York Times best Seller List against his own hopes. Brandon, who was hand selected by Robert Jordans wife, Harriet Rigney, to finish the last book in the epic fantasy novel The Wheel of Time had this to say yesterday about his best seller.

Brandon Sanderson wrote:
You all have my very most sincere thanks. I got a call from Tom Doherty, CEO of Tor, about an hour ago. It appears that we were not only successful at getting on the New York Times Bestseller list, we were several magnitudes more successful than I dared hope. I had thought that maybe we would be able to hit #35, last number on the adult hardcover list. We actually came in at #21.

This makes THE HERO OF AGES the #2 fantasy book of the week, behind Bob Salvatore's new book, and marks Mistborn Three as one of Tor's most successful fantasy new releases of the year. (It might actually be THE most successful new Tor fantasy of the year.)

This happened because of you. Thank you so much for reading my books. Hitting the Times list is a little thing, really, when compared to the enormous privilege it is to tell stories for a living and to have you all as readers.

Thank you.

While Brandon is busy with his own career teaching at Brigham Young University and writing his own books such as Hero of Ages as well as Mistborn simultaneously he is also writing what Tor Books fears to be the largest book yet that they have had to print. He fills in a great set of shoes to accomplish these tasks especially with The Wheel of Times final book A Memory of Light slated to be out in the Fall of 2009. He has set a preliminary goal of some 400,000 words for the novel of which Robert Jordan who passed away in September of 2007. Robert Jordan had already invested some 7,500 pages in eleven books of the series beginning with The Eye of the World in 1990 and had been quoted to say that "... he was working on a final novel, which would bring the saga to an end, even if it had to run to 1,500 pages."
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
 
Brandon Sanderson hits #21 on Best Seller List
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Preseason Award Watch List
» Nicholas Brandon
» List of e-publishers
» Curses! Skaven Hero Equipment list
» Doctor figures variants list

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans :: WELCOME TO SCI-FI-FANTASY FAN ::   :: News and Events-
Jump to: