Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans

A Home for Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels, Movies & Games
 
HomePortalGallerySearchRegisterLog in

 

 Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vik
Druid
Vik

Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation Empty
PostSubject: Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation   Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation Icon_minitimeSat 04 Jul 2009, 11:23 pm

Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation HarryPotter_GobletofFire_UKcover-thHarry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation

Bloomsbury Publishing on Monday denied allegations that author J.K. Rowling copied "substantial parts" of a book by another children's author when she wrote Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, the Reuters news service reported.

The book, published in 2000, was the fourth installment of the hugely successful boy-wizard Harry Potter series that has sold more than 400 million copies worldwide and been turned into a multibillion-dollar film franchise.
"The allegations of plagiarism made today, Monday 15 June 2009, by the Estate of Adrian Jacobs are unfounded, unsubstantiated and untrue," said a statement from Bloomsbury, which publishes Harry Potter in Britain. "This claim is without merit and will be defended vigorously."

In an earlier statement, Jacobs' estate said that it had issued proceedings at London's High Court against Bloomsbury Publishing for copyright infringement, claiming that Rowling had copied "substantial parts" of The Adventures of Willy the Wizard—No 1 Livid Land, written by Jacobs in 1987.

_________________
Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation Torcom_rocket_logo
Back to top Go down
https://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
 
Harry Potter publisher denies plagiarism allegation
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans :: WELCOME TO SCI-FI-FANTASY FAN ::   :: News and Events-
Jump to: