Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans

A Home for Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels, Movies & Games
 
HomePortalGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Honor Stephanie Harrington

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vik
Druid


Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

PostSubject: Honor Stephanie Harrington   Thu 20 Nov 2008, 11:32 pm

Honor Stephanie Harrington is a fictional character, the eponymous heroine of a series of science fiction books set in the "Honorverse", written by David Weber and published by Baen Books. She is known among the Sphinxian felinoid treecats, by one of whom she has been adopted, as "Dances on Clouds."

An officer in the Royal Manticoran Navy (RMN), the space navy of the Star Kingdom of Manticore, Harrington bears a striking professional resemblance to both the real-life British naval officers Admiral Lord Nelson and Captain Thomas Cochrane, as well as the fictional character Horatio Hornblower. (Weber references the creator of Hornblower at least once, a minor instance of "breaking the fourth wall", as an homage.) Like Nelson, she loses an eye and an arm in combat; her initials are the same as Hornblower's, and like all three officers, she has a genius for tactical command throughout the series and becomes a living legend by using those skills in several major engagementsóbattles for which the press nicknames her
"The Salamander" for always seeming to be "where the fire is hottest." By the tenth main-line novel (Ashes of Victory) Honor has emerged as a strategist of note as well, and has been promoted to the rank of Admiral in both the Manticoran and Grayson space navies.

Other parallels with real history include the political situation. During much of Harrington's career, her native Star Kingdom of Manticore is at war with the neighboring People's Republic of Haven (PRH), a conflict that bears more than a passing resemblance to the Napoleonic Wars between the British Empire and France.

Some of the battles described in the Honor Harrington series resemble real-life sea battles. For instance, the long stern chase described in On Basilisk Station has some parallels with the actions of HMS Kent at the Battle of the Falklands during World War I. Similarly, the deathride by Sarnow's battlecruisers in The Short Victorious War bears a resemblance to similar maneouvres by Admiral von Hipper during the Battle of Jutland. The final actions in The Honor of the Queen contain elements from the battles of the Barents Sea and North Cape during World War II, as well as the Battle of the River Plate

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
Vik
Druid


Number of posts : 572
Location : Wahington State
Humor : "One pretty woman means fun at the dance. Two pretty women mean trouble in the house."
Registration date : 2008-06-09

PostSubject: Honor's Character Trademarks   Fri 21 Nov 2008, 12:35 am

Honor loathes coffee and considers hot cocoa far superior.

She owns and practices with a replica Colt M1911 .45 caliber semiautomatic pistol, a weapon considered to be an anachronistic "hand cannon" by her contemporaries, who prefer pulsers, which fire small-calibre darts at extremely high velocity using a gravitic propulsion system. She acquired a taste for obsolete handarms from her uncle, Jacques Chou, who is an active member of the Society for Creative Anachronism. His training made her a pistol expert (useful on Sphinx outside its protected areas, given its native predators).

She also wears an eyepatch from time to time, due to the loss of her left eye while defending Protector Benjamin Mayhew from an assassination attempt. Normally she uses a prosthetic eye, though on occasion it has been disabled (as when she was captured and transported to Hades). Additionally, some of the nerves on the left side of her face were damaged during the same incident, and were replaced with natural-looking circuitry.

She lost her left arm during the escape from the Tepes and had it replaced by a cybernetic arm which, among other interesting features, contains a hidden pulser pistol inside the index finger, a weapon which has saved her life on at least one occasion.

Honor practices a fictional martial art known as coup de vitesse (French for blow of speed). This is a fusion of several western and Oriental martial arts, where emphasis is placed on offense at the expense of defense, resulting in a very brutal and effective style. As of War of Honor, Honor has earned an eighth level black belt. There is only one higher rank. Her proficiency has saved her and others several times.

Honor has become proficient with the Grayson style of swordplay, involving a blade very similar to the katana, which by a quirk of history is used ceremonially by Steadholders and is the center of a martial art on Grayson.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sci-fi-fantasyfan.forumotion.com
 
Honor Stephanie Harrington
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Stephanie Madoff Mack gets no sympathy from me
» Card of the Week - Number 101: Silent Honor ARK
» Stephanie Kalan
» Trick with Half or Nothing, use Vayu to tune on the field
» New here

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Sci-Fi-Fantasy Fans :: Book Talk :: Book Talk :: The Honor Harrington Series-
Jump to: